The Quarter Year Crisis Book Tag

Hello fellow readers!

We are officially a quarter of the way through 2024, the first few months of this year have disappeared in a blink of an eye and I will admit, there hasn’t been a huge amount of reading done but I do enjoy taking part in book tags, and I had read Books Are 42’s tag and decided to join in!

What have I been reading so far this year? Am I in the middle of a crisis? Yes. Keep reading for the answers!


The Questions and My Answers

So far, I have read a grand total of 17 books this year, which is considerably less that what I normally would read. One of my goals this year was to read fewer books in the hopes that I would be reading more four and five star reads. Many books have been three star reads which is unfortunate because I had hoped I would enjoy them more but sadly not.

The latest volume from the Fence series released in January, and it did become my first five star read and will be one of my favourite reads this year but I think I have yet to read my ultimate favourite yet. There’s a chance it could be my current read, Divine Rivals, as I am devouring the story and have fallen in love with the world, or it could be another book. There are so many brilliant sounding books due out this year and others on my backlist I want to read, I dearly hope they all become my favourites.

I picked up the bestseller, I Want to Die But I Want to Eat Tteokpokki by Baek Se-hee, a self-help / memoir where a lack of structure in each chapter led to the entire book feeling all over the place, and whilst it gave a great sense of how mental health affects people it didn’t translate well in a written format. It certainly didn’t feel like a self-help book (and is one that throws around different mental health diagnosis without backing them up, so it felt like the authors therapist was diagnosing her left and right without much just cause). It also felt like a long ramble, which I know is based on her audio scripts but even for a book, it could have been neatened up a little for ease of reading.

Read my review of “I Want to Die But I Want to Eat Tteokpokki” by Baek Se-hee.

I Want to Die But I Want to Eat Tteokpokki by Baek Se-hee

Is it a surprise that it’s Fantasy? Fantasy will always be that genre. The it girlie. Love of my life. If there is a day that Fantasy doesn’t rule my reading year, then I am not gazerofbooks anymore, I am not myself.

I always seem to have doubts about self-help books but I picked up James Clear’s Atomic Habits and devoured it. I found it really fascinating looking at his process of building habits, recognising that I am doing a lot of what he has said but my system of creating habits wasn’t too effective. So I am using that book and hopefully creating great habits for life.

All of them, I haven’t read a single one, oops…

I’ve only pre-ordered six books, and I haven’t picked any of them up. Most of the books I’ve chosen were sequels, and I have yet to read the first book, but as per usual, I am hopeful to read at least The Warm Hands of Ghosts before April ends.

It has been a goal of mine to read more of my owned books for the past year, I did terribly with that goal last year but this year has been quite a success with seven owned books being read in three months! I’ve been trying to borrow fewer books from my local library so I can focus on my own books. The one exception is non-fiction reads as I don’t tend to purchase them and prefer borrowing them.

It turns out that my life has gotten extraordinarily busy, and I am not able to keep up with all my hobbies, which is quite frustrating. I do need to focus on writing more book reviews because I am behind by nine reviews, which seems like it could be doable to have them written before April ends.

A diary, notebook and pens

The Questions

  • How many books have you read so far?
  • Have you found a book that you think might be a 2024 favourite?
  • Any least favourite book of the year?
  • Most read genre?
  • A book that surprised me?
  • A book that has come out in 2024 that I haven’t yet read?
  • One goal you made that you’re succeeding at?
  • One goal that you need to focus on?

How has your reading year gone so far? Have you found any stand-out books in such a short amount of time?

Let me know in the comments!


Leave a comment