Blogtober Day 21: Five Horror Books To Read During Spooky Season

It’s the most wonderful time of the season and that is reading ALL the spooky reads that will terrify me and most definitely leave me scared to fall asleep!

I can’t stop reading all the Horror books and now have a decent haul of those I have read and have gathered together five horror books you should read this spooky season!


The Hollow Places by T. Kingfisher

Pray that They are hungry

The Hollow Places was such a brilliant novel that frankly I had a blast whilst reading.

Paired with the ‘Dead by Daylight’ soundtrack this was the perfect read to get my heart racing but also thrilled and excited to see what would happen next in this portal horror!

Expect strange occurrences, unnerving monsters, along with plot twist after plot twist in this novel perfect for the spooky season!

Wicked Little Deeds by Kat Ellis

Wicked Little Deeds is such a slow, and intense plot driven story that will keep you guessing on who is the culprit, and I absolutely adored how Kat Ellis doesn’t need to develop the characters more than necessary to tell the story, allowing us to bask in the creepiness and the actions of the characters and how they’re deaths cause ripple effects throughout the community!

Read my full review of Wicked Little Deeds.

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

A dark, enticing story with a family running away from the bad luck upon their heels, a reclusive grandmother of dark fairy tales, and a land that is unlike ours known as The Hinterland.

I really enjoyed The Hazel Wood and found it such a creepily but beautiful read.

Alice and Finch were such intriguing characters and I loved how they bounced off one another.
Both determined and both wanting something they don’t think they can have.

The Hinterland and the fairy tales which we get to hear one or two of them! I love when books include the fairy tales and I need more (Are we going to get more?) But there is a sequel called The Night Country, So I can find out more!

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

Have you ever finished a book and it becomes the one that leaves you in goosebumps, the awe and shock of reading something so brilliant and in this case something so terrifying.

That was House of Hollow!

I devoured it like no other, and it is something that is perfect for these darker days with its chilling storyline and unnerving characters. It is one that will keep you guessing and even when you think you’re theory is correct another twist in the tale appears.

I couldn’t stop thinking about House of Hollow and its characters. Two days later, I was on a road trip and spent a whole hour just zoning out of life, thinking that book actually happened, I can’t believe this was a story. Which led to trying not to cry in the car but also yearning to pick it up again and damn all my other reads.

If you want something disturbing yet uniquely alluring then please read this book and I hope you all enjoy my portraits inspired by this book!

Harrow Lake by Kat Ellis

This is a book that does well to grip you within the first chapter, with a interesting way to set off this tale of horror and suspense!

This book really freaked me out and Kat Ellis has a magnificent way of setting the atmosphere and suspense needed throughout the book, making you unnerved with each page and guessing what actually lies at the heart of Harrow Lake!

If you want an amazing standalone horror story I definitely recommend this one!


Leave a comment